Print / View Finding Aid as Single Page

New-York Historical Society logo

Guide to the Alexander Anderson Print Collection
 PR 216

New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024
(212) 873-3400

New-York Historical Society

Collection processed by Jenny Gotwals

This finding aid was produced using ArchivesSpace on May 17, 2022
Description is in English.

Administrative Information

Access Restrictions

Materials in this collection may be stored offsite. For more information on making arrangements to consult them, please visit

Use Restrictions

Taking images of documents from the library collections for reference purposes by using hand-held cameras and in accordance with the library's photography guidelines is encouraged. As an alternative, patrons may request up to 20 images per day from staff.

Application to use images from this collection for publication should be made in writing to: Department of Rights and Reproductions, The New-York Historical Society, 170 Central Park West, New York, NY 10024-5194, Phone: (212) 873-3400 ext. 282.

Copyrights and other proprietary rights may subsist in individuals and entities other than the New-York Historical Society, in which case the patron is responsible for securing permission from those parties. For fuller information about rights and reproductions from N-YHS visit:

Preferred Citation

This collection should be cited as: Alexander Anderson Print Collection, PR 216, Department of Prints, Photographs, and Architectural Collections, The New-York Historical Society.

Related Materials

Three hundred and seventy eight original woodblocks engraved by Anderson are in the Printing Plate File (PR 057). Several engravings by Anderson, including a unique 1800 print, "Wheel of Fortune," are in the Issachar Cozzens Portfolio Print Collection (PR 145). A broadside featuring an image Anderson engraved in 1793 for the American Museum is in the N-YHS Library. The N-YHS Manuscripts Department holds a collection of Anderson's papers.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The collection is composed of multiple gifts. Much of the material was a gift of Daniel Parish in 1912.