Print / View Finding Aid as Single Page

New-York Historical Society logo

Guide to the Four Seasons Restaurant Collection
 MS 3151

New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024
(212) 873-3400

New-York Historical Society

Collection processed by Joseph Ditta

This finding aid was produced using ArchivesSpace on February 24, 2020
English using Describing Archives: A Content Standard

Descriptive Summary

Creator: Four Seasons (Restaurant)
Title: Four Seasons Restaurant collection
Dates [inclusive]: 1959-2019
Abstract: Scrapbooks, ephemera, photographs, renovation files, books, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, and a few objects documenting the history of the Four Seasons, the pioneering restaurant of "New American Cuisine," located at 99 East 52nd Street, Manhattan, from 1959 to 2016. Its spaces, designed by architect Philip Johnson, included the iconic Pool Room and Grill Room—birthplace of the "power lunch"—and gained official New York City interior landmark status in 1989. The Four Seasons moved in 2018 to 42 East 49th Street, where it closed permanently in 2019.
Quantity: 18.75 Linear feet in 13 boxes (12 record cartons, 1 flat box) and 5 oversize folders (4 small, 1 medium).
Call Phrase: MS 3151